Tuesday, October 9, 2007

Multiple Monitors Supported in Bridge CS3

The latest version of Bridge lets us extend our workspace across two monitors. That's right. You heard me. For those of us who use 2 monitors, this is huge. Here is how to set it up.

Go to Bridge's Window menu and choose New Synchronized Window. Window>New Synchronized Window

This creates an identical window ... not exactly what we were looking for. But wait, there's more. Before you slide it over to your second monitor, there's a few things we need to do to set it up to display just your preview pane.

With the new window on top, choose the Window menu and you'll see that most of the panel names have a check mark by them (this means that they will be visible). All we want to see with this new window is the Preview panel. Choose each one but the Preview panel. This should remove the check mark and remove them from view.

With everything hidden, you now have the Content Panel and the Preview Panel. You can't hide the Content Panel, so just slide the divider bar all the way to the left of the screen. This hides the Content Panel and leaves just the Preview Panel.

Now you can drag the panel over to your second monitor. When you click on an image in the Content Panel on your 1st monitor, the Preview Panel displays that image in the 2nd monitor. Synchronized Windows. Amazing.

You'll want to save this work space. Go to Window>Save Workspace. Additionally, you can assign this work space to one of the three buttons (1 2 3) on the bottom right of the screen. Simply click and hold on one of the buttons and then choose Save Workspace from the pop-up menu.

Thanks Adobe. You've got to love it when a software company actually listens to it's users ... and Adobe really does.

Stay tuned ... next time we'll look at Metadata and various ways to get your important information in there (including Metadata Templates).

No comments: